Convention Bulletin – Final day and elections

hmanek Uncategorized

Today was the last day of the 50th annual CUPE Newfoundland & Labrador convention! After a wonderful banquet dinner marking the 50th anniversary of CUPE NL delegates gathered for an election forum and heard from delegates coming forward for executive positions.

Delegates also heard from the Resolutions Committee and Constitution Committee, and our Canadian Labour Congress Representative for Newfoundland & Labrador, Kelly Codner.  Speaking to Why Politics Matter, the convention theme, Sister Codner talked about the work the CLC has done in holding all parties accountable to workers in our province—and across Canada—and the plans to fight for working people in the political sphere.

Finally, three executive positions were up for election, and the following delegates were acclaimed:

  • Natalie Webber, Executive Officer
  • Erin Woodfine, Executive Officer
  • Stacey Lucas, Secretary-Treasurer
  • Mike Tobin, Vice-President

Danielle Payne (below, right) and Crystal Kierney (below, left) and were nominated for the position of Three-Year Trustee, and while ballots were collected, CUPE PEI President Ashley Clark led the room in a jovial round of Solidarity Forever.

Your CUPE NL Executive are:

  • Sherry Hillier (Local 879), President
  • Mike Tobin (Local 879), Vice-President
  • Theresa Gillam (Local 4935), Recording Secretary
  • Eileen Morgan (Local 488), Trustee
  • Suzanne Hiron (Local 3148), Trustee
  • Stacey Lucas (Local 2329), Secretary Treasurer
  • Natalie Webber (Local 1615), Executive Officer
  • Erin Woodfine (Local 1289), Executive Officer
  • Brandice Blanchard (Local 4935), Diversity Vice-President
  • Stephanie LeGrow (Local 3762), Diversity Vice-President
  • Trevor Carson (Local 4935), Young Worker
  • Danielle Payne (Local 879), Three-Year Trustee

Our thanks to delegates for a wonderful 2024 convention. We are so proud to be celebrating 50 years of fighting for working people in Newfoundland & Labrador.

(Back row, left to right: Name, Trevor Carson, Eileen Morgan, Brandice Blanchard, Stephanie LeGrow, Danielle Payne. Front row, left to right: Natalie Webber, Mike Tobin, Sherry Hillier, Stacey Lucas, Theresa Morgan.)