CUPE NL Global Justice Conference May 4 – 5

creynolds Event

We are pleased to announce the first ever CUPE NL Global Justice Conference will take place in May, prior to the opening of our Division Convention!

May 4 and 5, 2019
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Corner Brook, NL

Building International Solidarity: ‘Come from Away, Here to Stay’

The theme of the conference is International Solidarity and Migrant Workers Rights. We will be having a mix of speakers, workshops, panels and film presentations to facilitate the discussion amongst attendees about the current and historical struggles of Newfoundlanders and Labradorians and workers in other countries.

The main focus of our conference will be migration and migrants. Why do people move, and what challenges do they face in a new home? What as trade unionists can we do to make migrants feel at home on Newfoundland and Labrador, and to support migrants at home and abroad?

Conference Objectives

To expose members to workers’ struggles around the world and to highlight our shared experiences of migration, union busting, unemployment, poverty and precarity.

To provide information about CUPE’s international solidarity work and to discuss how members can support and advance this work in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Who should attend?

Any member with an interest in global solidarity and migrant issues. We especially encourage locals to approach members who may be migrants or immigrants themselves.  We want to share our stories of migration and its challenges – whether it is working out West or moving to NL for study or work.

There is no limit on the number of members a Local can register.

Conference Details

Registration fee is $50.00 per delegate.

Registration will take place at 8 a.m. on Saturday, May 4, 2019.

The conference will begin on Saturday at 9 a.m.

It will end on Sunday at 12 p.m.

Greenwood Inn & Suites
48 West Road
Corner Brook, NL
Tel: (709) 634-5831 or (800) 399-5381

For more information and the conference, please contact:

Keir Hiscock
Global Justice Committee Chairperson